Microsoft Edge has come a long way since 2018 when the company first announced its move to ditch EdgeHTML in favour of Chromium. Since then, Microsoft has seen a rise in Edge's usage and the company has been working hard to improve Edge as well as the Chromium framework.

Now, Microsoft has added another feature to Canary and Dev versions that will allow users to reset their sync data (via Techdows). Microsoft allows users to sign in using their Microsoft Account and sync data such as history, favourites, auto-fill data and more across devices. However, if for some reasons, you want to delete this synced data, then you can enable the “Enable reset sync” flag and follow the steps below:

  • Open Microsoft Edge Canary (or Dev) and click on ellipsis icon on the top right corner
  • Navigate to Settings > Profiles > Sync and scroll down to the bottom of the page
  • Click on 'Reset Sync' and then click on 'Reset' to confirm

If you want to disable sync permanently then you can also uncheck the "Resume sync after resetting sync" option while resetting the synced data. Microsoft is suggesting users to utilize the reset sync option if they are having problems syncing browser data across their signed-in device.

Currently, the reset sync option is limited Canary and Dev channels but we expect it to be rolled out to Edge Beta soon. Microsoft is also working on a couple of small but welcome changes for its Edge browser. These include custom themes support for the new tab page as well as the option to disable the reveal password option.

Source: Techdows